The Rewired Brain

Our brains are fascinating and complex organs. The brain is the place where thoughts form, where we understand the world around us, and the control center of our fears, passions, and perceptions of the world. I was intrigued by the book because of the second part of the title, Free Yourself of Negative Behaviors and Release Your Best Self by Dr. Ski Chilton. This is something many people can benefit from, including myself.

The book begins by explaining the two parts of our brains, the system 1, which is the reptilian brain, and the system, which controls our cognitive thinking. Our system 1 brains are instinctual and in part influenced by our upbringing. It requires use of our system 2 brains to change the way our system 1 brain reacts. Chilton, in terms understandable to the layperson, explains the brains process and development, uses scientific research, and shares personal narrative to aid the reader in understanding their own brain development.

I greatly appreciated Chilton’s usage of God throughout this book. It was not excessively and was added in the appropriate places to help flush out certain areas of his explanations. I also enjoyed the questions and exercises that Chilton included at the end of most of the chapters and the exercises in the rest. They were helpful for introspection. Overall, I enjoyed this book and felt that I learned about my own thought process and development and the places I can improve.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggers http://www.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

