Rescuing the Gospel

In seminary, I had to take a few classes in church history. One of these covered the period of the Reformation. I had trouble being very interested in the class. The lectures were long and dry and I am not sure if I even remember any of them, although I wish I had. Unfortunately, nothing from that class has stuck with me. When I saw this book, Rescuing the Gospel: The Story and Significance of the Reformation by Erwin W. LutzerI was intrigued and wanted to give the subject another chance. I knew it was important and that it had a significant impact on my tradition so I wanted to try to learn about it again.

Lutzer is able to convey in a concise way some of the most important points in the history of the Reformation. He covers the significant people such as: John Hus, Martin Luther, Ulrich Zwingli, and John Calvin. The order of the book is clear and easy to follow and understand. While some history books can be tedious, Lutzer has a way of presenting the information so that you feel like you are being told a story. I also appreciated the additions of photographs and paintings throughout the book. I enjoyed being able to read this and get a refresher on the history of the reformation.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggershttp://www.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

