They Were Christians

Faith is beautiful and complex. We all experience and come to faith in different ways. It helps shape our view of the world and how we act. Life can be overwhelming, almost unbearable at times, yet faith can and does bring a person through it all. In faith we have the hope to persevere and trust in God as the head of our lives; the One we answer to above man. In reading about the faith of others, we are at once encouraged by their faith and perhaps challenged to reflect upon our own.

In, They Were Christians: The Inspiring Faith of Men and Women Who Changed the World, Cristóbal Krusen writes about the influence of faith in the lives of twelve men and women who had a profound impact on our world. Each of these accounts pull you deeper into their lives, showing the prevailing of their faith through trials and suffering, or how their faith was the foundation for who they became. Among two of my favorite people written about in this book were, Abraham Lincoln and Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Each of their stories are powerful and humbling. An excerpt from the chapter on Dostoyevsky includes part of a letter he wrote:

“God sends me moments of great tranquility, moments during which I love and find I am loved by others; and it was during such a moment that I formed within myself a symbol of faith in which all is clear and sacred for me.”

Krusen begins and ends each chapter with a bit of commentary, usually adding a snippet of his own experience into the mix. The book is an easy read and leaves you constantly eager for more. It is a great starting point to learn more about the faith of these twelve individuals and perhaps will inspire you to go on to read a more in depth biography as it did for me.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggershttp://www.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Leave a Reply

