To Be Alive

Happy Monday everyone!

I know it’s a day that many people don’t like. The death of a weekend of relaxation, the beginning of a week of toil, too many days until Saturday is with us again. It will come soon. The past year has brought and taken so much out of my life. There have been new friendships, broken friendships, deaths, and births. Pain, tears, grief, sorrow, but also joy. There is always joy. Amidst feelings of hopelessness there is joy on the horizon. Hope we can hold onto.

There is a quote I keep on the windowsill behind my desk. It is written on cardboard, above it a picture torn from the pages of a magazine. This was a gift from my older sister. The author of the quote is Dame Agatha Christie, an absolutely fantastic writer.

She says:

“I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow; but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.”

And this is life my friends. We are all going through something, but I hope we all take the time to know what a wonderful thing it is to be alive.

2 thoughts on “To Be Alive

Leave a Reply

