Sun Dried Tomato Pesto with Spaghetti (Squash)

Sometime last year I began a garden again. I used to have one a few years ago but then things happened and the garden became non-existent. Then, my brother mentioned that we should start a garden again. A great idea considering the amount of vegetables we eat in a week (let alone a day). One of our first herbs was basil. Fresh and enticing basil. I used it for a few months in sauces and other recipes. But then winter came, my brother said it was dying. I didn’t want to give up. I believed that the basil could make it through (partially because Southern California can hardly be considered real winter). It was beautiful, green, and aromatic. Until…. the Santa Ana winds. Then it died.

IMG_0120

So then in some act of defiance I went to the store and bought basil. Three days later I remembered I still had it and should probably make something with it. I had also been wanting pasta so I decided that pesto would be a good idea. I was half tempted to make my own pasta but since I am a little bit sick I didn’t have the energy to do so. Instead, I used a Spaghetti Squash. If you’re making this you could use either. The main thing here is this delicious pesto.

IMG_0104

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto:

Yield: 4 – 1/3 cup servings

Ingredients:

1 small zucchini 

3.5 oz basil

1/3 cup raw cashews

1/3 cup packed sun dried tomatoes (not in oil)

1/4 cup EVOO

1 Tbsp. nutritional yeast

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor. Pulse into desired consistency. (My processor is smaller than it should be so I could only put in half the ingredients, then pulsed it and put the rest in. You can also use the liquefy function to help it out a bit)

*I would have put in a clove of garlic or two but I ran out. Feel free to add garlic yourself though.

There are probably a bajillion entries on the internet about how to make spaghetti squash pasta, or maybe you are fancy and already know how. I cut my squash in half, scooped out the inside, brushed with some olive oil and put it in the oven for 40 min on 400 F. If you don’t want spaghetti squash then cook up some of your favorite pasta.

As you can see in the picture, I also added vegetables to mine.

8 oz sliced mushrooms

3 cups broccoli, chopped small

2 Tbsp. EVOO

  1. Saute in pan for 3-5 minutes over medium-high flame.

 

This meal served 4 people. Everybody had 1/4 squash, 1/3 cup pesto, and 1/2 cup vegetables. Here is the finished result:

IMG_0145

Hope you enjoy it. And as always modify to fit your desires. Food should taste good!

Leave a Reply

