A Restless Spirit

Today I came across a poem I wrote sometime in the last couple years, I think around May 2013. It was a time when I was working long hours in a hospital.

A Restless Spirit

My spirit is restless,

                      wanting to roam free

in an open field,

                      travailing snow covered mountains,

skipping stones on the rings of Jupiter,

                      soaring with meteors

through outer space

                      trails of fire blazing behind

gravity cannot hold me back.

.

There is an anvil tied to my soul,

                      thrown over a cliff

plunging to the depths of the ocean,

                      drowning.

Staring through rippled waters

                      at life above,

glassy eyed – dead.

And the world spins on.

Leave a Reply

