Abundance

I have been reflecting on the word abundance. There are so many things that come to mind and I have been trying to organize my thoughts on the subject but it really is complex.

There are two major areas my brain jumps to when I think of abundance. One is that living in a consumerist society we have way to much stuff. It bothers me, a lot. We have more than we need which I believe can become harmful. The desires for more increase and people don’t seem to be happy despite their excess of stuff. In fact instead of an abundance it really is an excess. It is useless and confining. Are we able to see the abundance in our lives? Too often I think we let ourselves focus on the things we don’t have. The consumerism mentality has taken over. We don’t see ourselves as having enough, instead we believe we are deprived. Those gadgets at some point lose their appeal and once again people are unfulfilled, so they need more. I hear many people talk about this and find it disheartening. Abundance or excess, either way it is not helpful to a happy and healthy lifestyle.

The second place my brain jumps to is the Bible. Reading the Bible, I understand abundance in a slightly different way. Abundance is more than material possessions. Here are a few of the verses that came up in association with abundance:

  1. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.- John 10:10
  2. May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. – Romans 15:13
  3. The Lord passed before him and proclaimed, “The Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, – Exodus 34:6
  4. And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.- 2 Corinthians 9:8
These are not materialistic extras. Instead they are eternal life essentials. Abundant life, abundant hope, abundant steadfast love, and abundant blessings. These are the things that will get you through the hard times. When you are struggling with feelings of doubt, fear, anger, or loss, it is not your materialistic things that will help you though. During those times you need something more; you need to have hope that things will be better, hope that this is only temporary, hope that goodness will prevail. You need to know that you have abundant life, a life with purpose, a life that is fulfilling. Number 3 is especially important in my life. I need to know that the love God has for me is abundant. It is something I can always count on and trust in. No matter what else happens in life, I can know that God has abundant love for me, for us. And also that God blesses us abundantly. And those abundant blessings are not necessarily material things. Those blessings are hope, faith, love, and strength.
One thought on “Abundance

Leave a Reply

