November Goals

Near the end of last month I temporarily resettled into my homeland of Los Angeles. As November begins it is time for me to set a new list of monthly goals. So far the goals I have set have only half worked. On the bright side it does give me motivation and I do get more work done than I would have otherwise. Here are the goals for this month:

First, I am participating in the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I do enjoy writing although often get frustrated through different parts of the writing process. Hopefully this will help me to be more on top of it. It only really takes 1700 words a day for the month to make it happen. I plan to write even if I don’t feel inspired and even if it sounds lame. I think sometimes we get too caught up in wanting something to come out perfectly. We need to accept that the first few drafts will probably be awful, but we can take joy in the revising process. Besides I have to start somewhere.

Originally for my second goal I wanted to cut back on processed added sugars. I don’t think I eat a lot of it to begin with but then again I might justify it every time I do. I had planned to cut it out entirely, which I have done successfully in the past. But then I was thinking how Thanksgiving is this month. I don’t want to miss out on cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie, or cranberry orange bread. So then I decided that I am allowed added sugar things once a week. That being said my added sugar generally comes in the form of maple syrup. I do not but white, brown, or powdered sugar. I like to sweeten things with either dates or maple syrup.

My third goal of this month is to practice piano more. When I lived in New Jersey this past year I had no piano. There were a couple in the basement of this one building, but they were out of tune. It made playing piano stressful. Then when I moved to the woods in Washington there was no piano there either. So I pretty much went a year without being able to play piano. Taking into account the possibility of business and the holiday season my absolute minimum is to practice 30 minutes a day. However, if it could be 1-2 hours a day that would be awesome.

Those are my goals for November.

What are yours?

Leave a Reply

