Nature is My Happy Place

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Happy Place.”

I have lots of places that I consider my happy place but one of the primary ones would be when i am out in nature. Climbing up mountain peaks, leaning up against trees, walking barefoot in the moss or the sand. Feeling the earth beneath my feet. Breathing fresh air. This is part of the reason why I have lived in three National Parks. I am especially happy when that nature concerns being in water. For some reason being submerged or surrounded by water has an especially happy and peaceful effect on me. Outside of nature, my family is a happy place; to be nestled in the arms of my family is pure joy. A lot of the landscape pictures I post on my blog are from the places I have been. Enjoy some of the pictures of my happy places below.

481902_3955873289209_512350804_n

This picture is from Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park. I saw sunrise and sunset from that peak many times and have climbed it from three different angles.

IMG_1589

This is a picture from the bridge overlooking Sol Duc Falls in Olympic National Park.

IMG_1625

This is a picture of the ocean. If you know me, then you know I love the water, especially the ocean. This is a picture from Cape Flattery. The most Northwest place in Washington State.

IMG_1494

This is a picture of Crescent Lake from part way up Pyramid Peak, also in Olympic National Park.

STB_1502

Although I love the Ocean, I also love waterfalls. There is something about water that draws me in. Perhaps because I am an Aquarius. This is Marymere Falls, also in Olympic National Park.

IMG_1507

No matter where I am, the ocean always feels like home. This is from Beach three or four. There are 7 beaches along the coast of Washington that are so plainly named. There is Beach 1, Beach 2, Beach 3, and Beach 4. Then there is First Beach, Second Beach, and Third Beach.

IMG_0664

This is what we call Pebble Beach. Not really a beach but a very relaxing place to escape people and be immersed in the outdoors.

10487496_10203092559728837_1219187867068410398_n

Of course I love my sunshine when at the beach. This is me at peace, feet in the sand, breeze in my hair, and sun on my skin.

251363_1959357697567_1793631_n

This is sunrise hitting a field of geysers in Yellowstone National Park. People might think it ridiculous to watch geysers going off all day for months on end. However, ask someone which geyser is their favorite. My favorite was always the Beehive geyser. My friend favored the Castle geyser.

0715151453

A view of the harbor from the closest town I live near. Although ‘close’ is a relative term. Technically it is 42 miles away. Still it is worth it just for me to sit on the beach and have a view of the ocean.

Who would want to stay indoors when we have such a beautiful earth to explore?

4 thoughts on “Nature is My Happy Place

  1. “Who would want to stay indoors when we have such a beautiful earth to explore?” So many scenic routes! Mountains, waterfalls, lakes, geysers, harbour, beaches! Very nice, Colleen! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Who would want to stay indoors when we have such a beautiful earth to explore?” So many scenic routes! Mountains, waterfalls, lakes, geysers, harbour, beaches! Very nice, Brittany! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

