Musicals and the 40’s

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Papa Loves Mambo.”

If you were to ask me about the music of my generation, I would come up with a blank. I would hazard a few guesses though to pretend I know what most of my peers are listening to, but honestly that is hardly the case. Spotify has helped with this, although I mainly use it to listen to indie bands that few people I know are well acquainted with.

The music my family played growing up definitely had an influence on my upbringing. I dislike harsh sounding music with its crude, vulgar, and explicit lyrics. While riding the bus yesterday a young man was playing very explicit music, loudly. This is a public place, he should have used ear phones. Even after asking him to turn it town, politely I might add, the music was still insufferable and I could feel anger welling up at the disrespect. Ear phones were created for a reason.

The music I grew up with? It was sweet, it was thoughtful, it had a purpose, plus you could actually understand the words. Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra were up there on the list. I probably remember them the most. Then Patsy Cline. I even remember my grandmothers favorite song, the one I tried learning to sing and play on the piano for her, Candy Kisses. And of course, Walking After Midnight, another favorite in my household. Along with the music of the 40’s and 50’s we grew up on musicals. I can still sing songs from 1776 and Pippin verbatim. The last music group I remember listening to growing up was classical. This is still one of my favorite types of music and has influenced me strongly as I am a classical pianist.

While the music we were raised with was different from most of the kids I grew up with, and we were definitely out of the loop with the music of our generation, I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

One thought on “Musicals and the 40’s

Leave a Reply

