Sunrise on the Canal

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Snapshot Stories.”

While living in New Jersey I had joined a rowing club. We often had to be at the boathouse by 5:15 AM. Since I didn’t have a car that meant I would wake up at 4:15 and walk 1.5 miles; a distance that I wouldn’t generally think of as far unless I haven’t had coffee and there is no light out. This particular day instead of rowing, my friend and I decided to go for a sunrise walk along the canal. Sunrise had been around 5:15 by this time so I still woke up around 4 to make coffee and walk to her house.

The walk along the canal took us through lush green trees newly dressed for the oncoming of spring. Small white honeysuckle lined the path. Like kids we plucked off the choice flowers in an attempt to taste the minuscule amount of liquid from the tip. The sun steadily rose and we watched as the reflection on the lake went from a deep pink and orange to a more muted gray.

This picture was taken at the first bridge crossing where I simply sat down to enjoy the stillness of the water. My legs dangled over the side almost skimming the surface. Absolute peace in a chaotic world at 5:45 AM.

Leave a Reply

