Living in the Woods (Part 1)

In the summer of 2011 I spent my summer in Yellowstone National Park around the Old Faithful area. Besides my job in the gas station, I got to watch geysers go off on a daily basis; streams of water shooting high into the air. In the mornings rays of sunlight would penetrate the steam, a sharp contrast from the cold morning air. Even after three months I would wait expectantly for that stream of water. It never ceased to amaze me.

251363_1959357697567_1793631_n

And of course there were mountains in abundance, with even more streams of water, from melting glaciers cascading off of cliff faces. Some of these waterfalls were only a trickle, but a trickle from so high up that you had to crane your neck. Then there were smaller ones, but strong and powerful. They could sweep you away in an instant.

260553_10150688456590363_1517023_n

After growing up in the city it was a nice change. Yet it didn’t feel that different from the city. Old Faithful is highly populated. We had our own post office, a health center, restaurants, stores, lodges, and a pub. Instead of feeling the peace and quiet of nature, it still seemed like city life with some nature added in.

I probably learned a lot that summer but nothing that I’d be able to vocalize or even realize. The woods does give you a different perspective on life and I was beginning to learn what that was. At the end of the summer I returned to California, to the city, and to school. But the summer stayed with me, I missed the woods.

Leave a Reply

