Oasis

I’ve been sick and traveling for the past few days and due to these events  I have not been able to post. While I am still sick, I am feeling slightly better, I am also attempting to resettle into the East Coast and its frigid weather. I looked through the past couple of prompts from the daily post and want to catch up on some of them I liked this one entitled Oasis and my thoughts are below.

A sanctuary is a place you can escape to, to catch your breath and remember who you are. Write about the place you go to when everything is a bit too much.

If you know me well, you might already guess the answer I will put. There are a few places I consider sanctuary like. One of these is the mountains. When I went home for winter break I went hiking 17 out of the 20 or so days I was there. The mountains are incredibly freeing. Missing a day of hiking puts a small weight on my soul. What is so difficult about living in New Jersey is that there are no mountains close by plus the whole fact that it is winter. But back home I was in those mountains every day. Standing on the summit brings me such peace, joy, and calm. If I am lucky there are very few people around (the exception being my siblings and mom). The hustle and bustle fall away.

0105151059a
Towsley Canyon

However, as much as I love the mountains, they probably rank second in my sanctuary of a place. The first would definitely be swimming in the ocean. It is one of the most tranquil feelings in the world. It is as if time stops. I feel more at peace in the ocean than most other places. I can’t exactly explain why. Perhaps the feeling of being engulfed entirely in water. This feels like my natural habitat. While hiking I am still aware of troubles although only on a minor level. In the ocean, everything goes. Sometimes I wish I was a sea turtle so I could endlessly swim back and forth across the ocean, catching currents, and only occasionally stopping on land.

10679791_1070718102954506_3033439783540384865_oHowever, there will be neither mountains or ocean relatively close to me for the next several months. I guess I have to find another oasis.

Leave a Reply

