Pumpkin, Oat, and Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have an obsession with baking. It’s like we were made for each other. Part of me had wanted to go to cooking school and make a career out of it either that or travel the world. In fact there were at least 20 other things I wanted to do besides going to college. So little did I care about going that I only applied to one and was talked into applying to a backup school, just in case. I got talked into going to University. Often I wonder how my life would have been different had I not gone. But it’s in the past. I graduated early and took a baking class. Every Friday 8am we would come in, the chef would eventually enter, late, list off up to 7 different things we were to have baked and plated by 3pm before he would abruptly leave the room. Total happiness.

I did not make a career out of cooking though I have worked as a cook. Mostly I do it for my own pleasure and for friends and family. On top of this I enjoy experimenting with recipes. I have many friends and family who are diabetic, gluten intolerant, or vegan. My goal is to make delicious meals that incorporate some or all of these dietary restrictions. Below is a vegan and gluten-free recipe. Often I cook without processed sugar. I was out of dates and could not make the recipe entirely sugar-free. However, I believe that maple syrup is better than white sugar and goes well especially with the pumpkin. I hope you enjoy this recipe. Let me know how it turns out for you or if you have any questions.

IMG_3344

Pumpkin, Oat, and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yield: 16 cookies

Ingredients

1/3 cup pumpkin puree

1/3 cup maple syrup

2 tablespoons melted coconut oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup old-fashioned oats (gluten free)

1/3 cup buckwheat flour

3 tablespoons chopped walnuts

1 ounce chopped chocolate (100% pure chocolate, no sugar)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F

1. Mix the first four ingredients together.

2. Add the oats and stir in. The mixture will probably begin to solidify a bit because of the coconut oil. Next mix in the buckwheat flour.

3. Stir in the chopped walnuts and chocolate until incorporated.

4. Drop spoonfuls of batter onto a lightly greased cookie sheet. Press down. The cookies should not spread and will retain whatever form that you flatten them into.

5. Bake on 350 F for 10 minutes.

One thought on “Pumpkin, Oat, and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

