The Grave Robber

I am an avid reader. On the plane ride home I finally read The Grave Robber. I had received a free copy from goodreads provided I write a review. Here are my thoughts.

Mark Batterson’s The Grave Robber: How Jesus Can Make Your Impossible Possible is an informative, engaging, and uplifting book about the miracles of Jesus.

Batterson’s primary focus is seven specific miracles as presented by the gospel of John. The first section of the book however challenges the reader to think of what a miracle is. Miracles are disregarded by many people as events that are either impossible or no longer occur. Thomas Jefferson is used as an example as he had cut out all the sections of the gospels that depict Jesus’ miracles. Batterson then asserts that miracles are necessary not only for the wonderful things they accomplish, but because at their core they redirect us to Jesus as our Lord and Savior.

He writes about seven of the miracles in the book of John. Each miracle is a display of some aspect of the nature of Christ. Each of these miracles has roughly three chapters which help the reader understand the passage on varying levels. Batterson even shares relevant stories that help us to relate to the text.

I didn’t expect to enjoy this book when I started but as soon as I got to the chapters on the miracles I was hooked. I appreciated the outlook he gives about these miracles and found them helpful and understandable. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in exploring the miracles in the gospel of John.

Leave a Reply

